You are not logged in. Please register or login.

dalethirsty
 Rep: 20 

Re: guns n roses record label situation

dalethirsty wrote:

so what's the deal with guns n roses and geffen these days?

i don't recall axl being too happy with the label after chinese democracy came out with zero fanfare. i'd guess things went totally dark after cd 2 was turned in and supposedly rejected.

still, it's baffling how geffen haven't tried to capitalize on this cash grab. i thought for sure we'd see something for afd 30, so perhaps there's still a "cold war" of sorts? you'd think slash and duff being around with be enough to smooth things over.

if the band woke up one day after the tour ended and wanted to release an album, how would that even work?

buzzsaw
 Rep: 423 

buzzsaw wrote:

I am not an expert at this, but if memory serves me correctly GnR owes them one more album.  If that's true, the label is not going to put out some garbage so they can meet their requirements, then shop a reunion album on the free market.  That's my very uneducated guess on the situation.

esoterica
 Rep: 69 

esoterica wrote:

I don't know what's more surprising: the drunken Axl v Fernando accidental release debacle or the fact that the record company actually was cool with releasing Appetite For Democracy.

I'll go with the latter. Dreadful.

dalethirsty
 Rep: 20 

dalethirsty wrote:
Wagszilla wrote:

I don't know what's more surprising: the drunken Axl v Fernando accidental release debacle or the fact that the record company actually was cool with releasing Appetite For Democracy.

I'll go with the latter. Dreadful.

yeah, the entirety of "appetite for democracy" is a complete joke. i get what they were trying to go for with the name, but it sounds dumb as hell in reality. clearly everyone had just given up at that point. it's such a shame that for all the different incarnations of new guns, the clown show w/ ashba is what they decided to capture and release in 3d blu ray.