You are not logged in. Please register or login.

vipicius
 Rep: 6 

Re: Would you work for GN'R?

vipicius wrote:

Hello.

I've been thinking about what it would be like to do something like that, and I think it might be interesting to see what other people think about it. I saw that Wagszilla is a graphic designer and I saw what he did with "Stay of Execution", and I found it pretty cool, so I guess maybe he does not have a problem with that.

I use myself as an example, and I say I do not know if I would. I am a student of graphic design, I have not enough experience and am insecure as well as quite critical of what I do. That said, how would you feel when you were chosen to do something for the band? In my case, it could be something like a '' simple '' display poster or even a complex album cover.

Well, leaving aside only the graphic area, according to your profession, if there was the possibility of developing something for GN'R, would you accept it?

monkeychow
 Rep: 661 

monkeychow wrote:

I'll be an asshole and list the negatives first:

* Axl is known to fire people in a rage then rehire them the next day often
* Several people have had issues getting paid after working for the band
* The band is involved in litigation and disputes more than most
* Multiple people have experienced workplace bullying.
* As an employer the band didn't seem to respect a health problem bumble developed.
* Many creative projects the band started (music/videos etc) have never been released so your work may be tied up for decades or forever.

On the other hand:

* Axl and Slash are amongst the most talented musicians of multiple generations.
* GNR is a global brand with a huge history.

So basically most people would look at those pros and work for them despite the previous list of cons. That's how they get away with it!

apex-twin
 Rep: 200 

apex-twin wrote: