You are not logged in. Please register or login.

gnfnraxl
 Rep: 43 

Re: Question about GNR remakes.

gnfnraxl wrote:

I have a question that maybe some of you can answer.  I know there are some lawyers here on the board.  What if a band decided to do a remake if you can call it that of one of the leaks and put it on their albums.  Say if NIN decided to remake IRS for example.  Could they be sued?  What about other released GNR songs.  Do you need permission?  Thanks.

Neemo
 Rep: 485 

Neemo wrote:

i'm not a lawyer...but i think if someone records a cover of a copyrighted song and plans to release it to make money, that they need the artists (or their estates) consent

A Private Eye
 Rep: 77 

Yeah if you plan on releasing a song and it wasn't written by you, then you need the artist who wrote the songs permission. In the case of the leaks I suspect nobody would get permission from Axl to record and release them as a song before he did. Nothing to stop a band performing them live though, VR could perform CD from start to finish (assuming they'd heard it) and Axl couldn't do anything about that. That's my understanding of it anyway.

Incidentally do you think GNR or whoever owns the back catalogue of GNR songs are quite strict on who can do a cover of the songs as their aren't that many released covers of GNR songs around that I'm aware of? Plenty of live renditions by artists of SCOM, WTTJ, Patience etc but very few seem to have been recorded and released.

Backslash
 Rep: 80 

Backslash wrote:
A Private Eye wrote:

Yeah if you plan on releasing a song and it wasn't written by you, then you need the artist who wrote the songs permission. In the case of the leaks I suspect nobody would get permission from Axl to record and release them as a song before he did. Nothing to stop a band performing them live though, VR could perform CD from start to finish (assuming they'd heard it) and Axl couldn't do anything about that. That's my understanding of it anyway.